Golden dreams were shiny days

beginnings I’ve always rather liked September.

I’m like a lot of people who associate it with the start of school. I always liked school, though, so I never had any reason to hold it against the month as if it were somehow September’s fault that somebody somewhere decided that’s when school should start. In fact, I sort of miss that starting-of-school that used to happen this month. For the moment, at least, I am done with school and I’m already feeling a little nostalgic about the whole beginning of a new semester thing.

Then, too, September feels a lot like January to me because of that whole “new beginnings” thing, which has always appealed to me. I love the idea of getting to start all over with “wiping clean the slate,” as North once said. Not sure why it is that I like beginnings so much better than either middles or endings. For all I know, it may not even be that unusual of me. I do know that a lot of folks fear starting over, in sort of the same way that the first day at a new school or a new job or a new marriage or even a new divorce can be pretty scary. I won’t deny the nerve-wracking part but, to me, “new” means “I haven’t had a chance to screw this up yet.” It means endless possibilities.

That’s one of the ways you keep yourself young, you know. Learn to enjoy beginnings.

My life is taking me farther and farther away from the whole September = beginnings equation. I graduated last May. Gina finished with school (at least, for now) in July. And Ricky started his last year of high school yesterday. He will be my last school child … certainly the last one to finish high school. He isn’t going straight to college, either, so this is it for the starting school stuff around this time of year … at least, until I head off to graduate school.

Of course, if you are a glass-half-empty sort of person, you may be thinking that September ≠ beginnings. Perhaps, in your head, September = endings and specifically post-Labor Day September means the end of summer. Technically, of course, September won’t be over until around the 21st but that doesn’t matter. This time of year is the return to drudgery for many people. Summer vacations are over. Days are getting noticeably shorter. Now that we are no longer distracted by summertime leisure activities, it seems that everybody expects more from us and we have to work harder. And soon, it’s going to start getting a lot colder. But again, it’s all in the way you look at it. I’m fine with summer ending because summer isn’t my favorite time of year and never has been.

I. Love. Fall.

I am awaiting the days when it’s cool — no longer hot (although it didn’t get very hot this year) and not yet cold. Great sleeping weather. Football everywhere. Everybody is busy (no whining about not having anything to do). Gorgeous fall foliage coming this way in a few weeks. The Autumn Equinox. What’s not to like?

And then after this month, we get to gallop toward the end of the year and all those holidays I really like. Samhein. Thanksgiving. Winter Solstice. Christmas.

And the New Year … another new beginning.

Yeah, I like this time of year.

