All I want is a couple days off

hate-your-job I have a job.

I consider myself to be very fortunate because a lot of the young people I graduated with don’t have jobs yet. I hear they are hard to come by.

My job doesn’t have the best pay because it is a public sector position. But I was eager to take it because it is in economic development, an area after my own heart.

I work for an IDA (industrial development agency), a public benefit entity with a mission of smoke-stack chasing. I was told by the folks who hired me that they weren’t going to do things the old way, though, because that doesn’t work. We’re going to go outside the box, they said.

But I have just spent the most exhausting and frustrating week at work, largely because I’m seeing lots of potential and I’m seeing what needs to be done … and then I keep getting reminded that I have to stay focused on what we can do as an IDA. And of course, none of the things that need to be done fall within the mission parameters of an IDA.

It makes me want to spit nails.

I came into this job with the thought in my head that I would stay for two or three years, depending on how much I felt like I would be able to get done. It’s looking to me like it is entirely possible that I’ll be gone from here sooner rather than later … especially if I keep getting my hands slapped for wanting to … well … get things done.

I’d like to go tilting at some windmills but it has been made abundantly clear to me that, if I do so, I’ll have to do it on my own time. Unless I manage to dream up a way to make the things that need to happen happen within the very strict confines of what an IDA does.

It’s disappointing but it just brings graduate school a lot closer. And that’s not necessarily a bad thing. But I would like to do some good for this community before I skip town … if I’m allowed to.

I don’t really hate my job. At least, not yet.

