Let’s get physical

None of these women is me - just so you know.

None of these women is me – just so you know.

Everything you write comes from somewhere.

Or … because really, I can only speak for myself … certainly everything I write comes from somewhere.

What I am about to write comes from here, where Gina was bemoaning her inability to stick with an exercise program. (If any of you can offer any words of wisdom for her, please share. I said what I had to say but I’m only her mom, so what do I know?)

Having just confessed to being her mom, you will no doubt now be able to peg me as the parent she refers to who has been working out since she was little tiny, modeling lifelong fitness for my daughter in the hopes that she would come to place value on it. And it worked! She has come to place value on it.

The discipline required to implement? Not so much.

I guess maybe I should have sent her to a Catholic school. The nuns did it for me, they might have done it for her.

But I digress.

The thing is that I had gotten far, far away from my daily workout routine myself. My excuse had to do with equipment and I’m not going to get into that right here. Suffice it to say that my problem was not insoluble but I was not taking initiative and I was sitting at work turning slowly (or maybe not so slowly) into a very large slug.

Not pretty.

So, I cut a deal with my second born male child in order to address my equipment problems and, I am happy to say, today was the first day of my return to working out.

And, I am sorry to say, I am in pathetically bad shape.

So, this is the moment where I am in most danger of throwing up my hands and whining, “I can’t do it anymore!” Which is why I am now making a public commitment to sticking with this until I feel like my body works again.

I am eager to get back in shape but I don’t intend to kill myself. I will start out doing strength/cardio every other day. I’ll add extra cardio routines as I start to feel like I’m not going to die from what used to be a normal workout for me. And I’ll push myself but not too hard. After all, I’m not getting any younger.

But I’m going to do my damnedest to feel like I am. 😉

One thought on “Let’s get physical

Comments are closed.