Wanna tell you a story

storytime
Caelon learns of the Gaerud and Dia receives an offer.

“Come in, Daerus.”

Daerus did not await a second invitation, but let himself into her sitting room without ceremony and fixed her with a brooding stare. Dia placidly returned his gaze and waited.

“Why are you leaving?” he asked her abruptly.

She smiled. “Why should I stay? I do not live here, you know.”

“Are you trying to offend the imperial family?”

“Not at all, and I know of no reason why they should be offended.”

“Oh, come now, Dia!” he said, distracted. “Almost no one leaves the Emperor’s court so soon! He is sure to be offended and my chance to be wed to Kera will be lost!”

At that, she laughed aloud. “How can you be so absurd, Daerus? It has been obvious to everyone at court since before ever I arrived that his Majesty quite dotes upon you. Indeed, I fancy you had no need of my aid, no matter what you may say to the contrary. No, Daerus, do not start to rant at me, if you please. I have met the Emperor and his family, and have thoroughly charmed them all. What reason have I for prolonging my visit?”

I was beginning to think I wasn’t going to make it! But it’s still Saturday and I’ve gotten the next chapter of The Rise of The Phoenix posted. I hope you enjoy it and, as always, I would love to hear what you think. Please leave feedback for this chapter in the comments on the chapter.

Continue reading

