Wake me up inside

bored

I am at work right now.

I get paid to be here for eight hours a day but, most days, if I can’t make up something for myself to do, then I have nothing to do.

This is turning out to be one of those days. I suppose if I were to put enough energy into it, I could come up with a project that would keep my occupied until my 4pm conference call.

This is a weird job. It’s not the kind of position where you do much of anything. Instead, you spend your days thinking a lot and attending meetings and networking with people and going to conferences and writing reports and making plans that you hope somebody will eventually implement. Oh, and you drink a lot of hot beverages (coffee and/or tea).

If any of the plans I have already made get implemented, then I will have things to do because I will have programs to run. That will be exciting and it’ll be even more exciting if said programs end up doing good things for people’s lives and for the local economy. While I wait (mostly I’m waiting for money), I get to make up stuff to do.

Just to give you an idea of how bad this is, I’m sitting here contemplating eating lunch at 11:20am, just because I don’t have anything else to do and it’ll pass a little time. That’s bad.

I probably shouldn’t complain. I’m getting paid for all this waste of my time.

If all else fails, I guess I can always get to work on my Christmas shopping …

