I wish you bluebells in the spring

snow-stop

Wow!

So, it’s already March. I haven’t been in here much because I haven’t had much to say about anything except, “Damn, it’s cold outside!” and “I wish it would stop snowing.” and “I can’t wait until spring.”

Everybody else is saying that stuff and I didn’t want to be redundant.

Not that I have much of anything else to say today. It’s March 1st. It’s snowing a little bit today. It’s supposed to snow a lot tonight — in fact, I’m under another Winter Weather Advisory until tomorrow morning at 7am, by which time there will be another 4 to 6 inches of snow on the ground and on my car to dig out from under.

I don’t really have much to say these days. As a general matter, if I’m only going to complain about the weather, I feel that I might just as well keep my mouth shut. But there is relatively little happening in the lives of anybody who lives in this part of the world (meaning the northeast) because we’re all waiting for the weather to warm up a little bit. And we’re not talking about 70 degree weather, although that’ll be nice when it happens. No, at this point, most of us would be pleased just to get north of freezing for a minute. Actually, next week is supposed to be relatively warm, with the high temperatures in the double digits all week. When is the last time that happened?

It’s also supposed to snow. Every day.

It’s been like that this winter, hasn’t it? It’s either been insanely cold or, when it’s not arctic outside, it’s snowing.

Yeah, we’ve all had enough of this.

And now it’s March, the month that is the vessel of all our hopes. Already, there’s an argument between weather.unisys.com and The Weather Channel about how warm it’s going to get over the next week, with The Weather Channel being optimistic enough to predict that it’s going to get close to 40 degrees! (Par-tay!) Daylight savings time returns to us next weekend. Spring is in twenty days … at least, according to the calendar. Easter is a little over a month away. All the clothing catalogs want us to start buying clothes to wear in July. Over the weekend, I actually saw a patch of soggy dirt and tired-looking grass where the snow had actually melted away!

Of course, said patch of ground is currently being covered by the latest snowfall but still … at least I know it’s still there.

Just like I know that warm weather will return … even if I can’t imagine what it’s like to be warm enough out to leave the house without wearing a coat. Does that happen to you? About this time of you, you start to have trouble remembering what it is like when it’s not winter?

5 thoughts on “I wish you bluebells in the spring

    • Actually, one of my lifelong best friends lives in Las Vegas, and I have a daughter living in Phoenix who tantalizes me all the time about how warm it is in that part of the world. One of these Februarys, I’ll come out there and visit. There doesn’t seem much point in going to AZ in July, if you see what I mean.

      Thanks for stopping by, Paulette!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.