We’ll route our way on maps of stars

eat-right-train-hard
This blog isn’t any particular kind of blog, in case you hadn’t noticed.

There are certain themes I touch on regularly, depending on where I’m at in this journey, what I am most preoccupied with. For the most part, however, this blog is really just about me. Yes, I know that sounds egocentric and I suppose it is. Other people write humor blogs or writing blogs or relationship blogs or health and fitness blogs. I am not so interesting but I did warn you about that.

And it’s probably not fair to say this blog is just about me. It’s not really. This blog is about a journey, one particularly journey through life, starting from a particularly time immediately on the other side of a whole bunch of shit. This isn’t even the first time I have come through a whole bunch of shit, or the first time I have found myself starting out again from beyond a certain crucible.

I’m kind of hoping that last one — which was a doozy, I’ll admit — will be my last one. I’m getting too old for this stuff.

But I digress.

While I can’t truly say that this blog has a theme, I can say that sometimes a certain thread runs through my writings thanks to what I happen to be doing or thinking about at a given point in time. I write a lot about my kids, their trials, tribulations and peccadilloes. That’s because they’re important to me, obviously, and even though they are all grown, that doesn’t mean they have finished doing all the growing they are going to do or even need to do. They are still picking directions for their lives. They are still working on that great life essay — What I want to be when I grow up.

Then again, I’m still working on that one myself and I’m a lot older than they are. I’m not in a position to hold my nose up in the air at anybody’s unfinished life.

(Hey, Gina, you might want to think about that next time you start beating up on yourself because you moved back in with your mom for a few months. I haven’t settled into a life yet either, and I’m 30 years older than you are.)

As I stumble into 2016, there will be some new themes that I anticipate spending a lot of time on.

First and foremost, I will be putting some very serious time, thought, energy, sweat and effort into getting fit. That doesn’t mean losing weight, although you kind of can’t have one without the other. It doesn’t mean getting to be slender and svelte, with the body I had when I was 20 years old.

No, when I say I want to get fit, I mean I want to be healthy. I want to tame my diabetes once and for all. I want to feel good without the need for drugs. I want to have energy! I want to have stamina!! I want to be able to lift heavy shit!!!

So, I expect I’ll be writing about that a lot.

Secondly, and I have also already mentioned this to you, I expect to be moving south next year. I have put in some applications to graduate schools and I expect I will be submitting one more. In the unlikely event that I still don’t get in anywhere, I want to find a job south of here. It can be due south or it can be southwest of here (southeast puts me somewhere in the Atlantic Ocean, so that’s out of the question) but it’s going to be down there somewhere. There are two things going on here: I don’t like here and I don’t like my job.

Fortunately, thanks to a couple of fiscal circumstances into which I need not take you, I will have the wherewithal to move me and my younglings and my entire household to another state shortly after the midpoint of 2016. All of which reduces to the fact that, sometime around the middle of the year, I’m going to be starting a whole new phase or chapter or whatever-you-want-to-call-it of my life.

I cannot even begin to express to you how much I am looking forward to that.

Those are the two biggies. There will be other things, of course, but those are the main things.

This will probably be my last post of 2015 — I think. Either way, I’m not going to wrack my brains trying to do an annual retrospective, primarily because I don’t really remember what all happened in 2015. But another good reason to skip the looking back stuff is a matter of personality.

Most of the time, I prefer to look forward rather than looking back.

And then, too, it’s probably better to be here at least as often as I look forward or back. Even at this time of year. Otherwise, I’m likely to miss a hell of a party.

I hope you have a festive, safe and prosperous 2016. See you next year!

One thought on “We’ll route our way on maps of stars

  1. Pingback: I just want to relax | Beyond the Crucible

Comments are closed.