Breathing in, breathing out

workout-planI’m always happy when I get through a whole week of completing every part of every workout I’ve planned to do every day.

That sounds like such a simple thing, doesn’t it? The sad fact is that I haven’t been doing this for long enough so that it’s never tempting to skip this part one day or skip that thing another day. It’s a little bit like quitting smoking. How many years in do you have to be before you are never craving a cigarette? I quit six years ago and I still occasionally get an urge to go find a cigarette.

How do I answer that craving? I tell myself, “You don’t smoke, Dawn.” Within seconds, the craving is gone.

It doesn’t quite work that way with my workouts. Probably has to do the difference between resisting the temptation to do something and resisting the temptation to not do something. If I want to resist the urge to have a cigarette, I don’t really have to do anything. As long as I do nothing, the craving will eventually go away. But, to resist the temptation to skip a workout involves actively doing something. “Ignore it and it’ll go away,” is not an option.

The trick there is to get myself to the point that I’m on autopilot. I come home from work. As automatically as I hang up my keys, I go change into my workout duds and come down to the workout place otherwise known as my living room.

I have realized that the reason I was rambling along in what felt like a directionless post last week was because I was rambling along in a directionless post. The bottom line of that post is the relatively simple task of setting short-term goals (and long-term goals, for that matter) still lies before me.

This is a no-brainer, right? I have to decide where I’m going before I decide how best to get there.

And if you thought I sounded directionless in that last blog post, be glad you’re not inside my head.

Maybe I should change up my cardio like this

Maybe I should change up my lifting like that

Maybe I should start eating this stuff.

Maybe I should stop eating that stuff.

Well, gee, Dawn, what is it exactly that you’re trying to do?

When the corner of my brain that hasn’t lost its mind poses that poser, my response to date has been, “Um … er … uh … ”

This is not Dawn at her most eloquent.

So, okay … I think I have come up with something sane.

My immediate goals are:

  1. Hemoglobin A1C levels down to less than 6.5, and
  2. Four consecutive weeks of complete workout schedules

We note that neither of those goals have anything at all to do with my appearance. The appearance stuff — that #transformationtuesday picture I’m anticipating next month — will be my reward for successfully completing those two goals. Because, if I complete those two goals, the pictures will show me that I’m still making visible progress.

(I am going to show you the first set of pictures, just as soon as I work myself up to it. I promise.)

In the meantime, I will retain a question in my head: “Are you working hard enough?”

That’s the question to ask myself when I want to consider upping the ante. And that is a whole ‘nother batch of second-guessing myself. I don’t want to overtrain and end up looking like one of those hyper-muscular folks. On the other hand, I do want to improve and get stronger … to a point. I need to pick a point.

At some point, I will have all this organized in my head.

One thought on “Breathing in, breathing out

  1. In terms of how hard you work, I just want you to know that it takes a LOT of work like too much work almost to get your body to look like that of a hyper muscular person. That takes an extremely strict diet, hours per day in the gym, and lifting HEAVY and at low reps.

    Make it a mission every session to be tired at the end of the workout. If your muscles don’t feel tired or weak, then you aren’t working hard enough to make gains.

    Like

Comments are closed.