Thousands and thousands of miles away

success So, I notice that I haven’t really been keeping you updated on my fitness adventure.

The first thing I have to tell you is that I’ve been a bad girl. The month of February was a bit of a wash for me in terms of staying on that interesting bean-ful diet. As far as I can tell, the hardest thing about this diet is that I end up majorly craving all the stuff I don’t eat. All those carbs … I end up having serious bread cravings, believe it or not. And over the last couple of weeks, following the diet was so spasmodic for me that I might just as well not have been on it at all.

I have made up my mind to clean up my act though, starting this week. Last weekend, my cheat day (supposedly on Saturday) turned out to be a whole cheat weekend that started on Friday night and didn’t end until Sunday night. That is absolutely not the way to get it done. (Friday Night Fiction Parties are difficult if I’m not allowed to either snack or drink high-sugar alcoholic beverages.)

On the other hand, I’ve been pretty good about working out … sort of.

Last week was mostly a Kelsie week, which means that I got some really good workouts. But I keep pooping out late in the week, instead of pushing myself like I need to. This week, I’m going to be FIRMing, starting tonight with Burn & Shape and then on Wednesday I’ll do Punch, Jump & Jab and on Friday I’ll do Total Body Time Crunch, with cardio and ab work in between.

Another thing I’m going to be doing this week is reviewing the workouts in the P90X3 series. Eek!

Tony Horton scares me to death because he is an intense crazy person but his stuff is really good at pushing you past where you ever thought you were going to go. Gina is good at that, too, by the way — at least, she is for me. So there’s a pretty good chance that I’m going to want her to coach me through these workouts during my first 90 days. Of course, it’s possible that I won’t need coaching past my first 30 days but … well, we’ll see.

I’ll say this: even with all my misbehaving, there has been marked improvement. I forgot to mention to you guys that my hemoglobin A1C dropped pretty precipitately from 11.0 (eeeeeeekkk!!!) to 7.4 (whew!) which is still not at normal levels but it’s a fairly huge difference. Let’s see if we can get that down under 6 next time I have a diabetes follow-up appointment.

Losing weight is a little bit like writing a novel. The beginning is manageable, if you’ll just get started, and the ending is what you kind of have in mind all along, but the middle is the real slog. I don’t know about anybody else but my ending still seems so far away that I need these little interim goals and things so that I feel like I’m getting somewhere.

3 thoughts on “Thousands and thousands of miles away

  1. Would I help you if I did more workouts with you? I think I’m going to go through the P90X and P90x3 series and make weekly plans for those as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It might. At the very least, I need to know more about the P90X3 and how to order them over the 12 weeks that constitute 90 days. Looking them over, there are a few that are fairly obviously intended for the early, easy stuff. So, if you want to, we can definitely do some of these shorter workouts together. It’ll be fun! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.