Where do we go from here?

waiting-game I have another nine and a half weeks to put in for this job. Then I’ll be free to pack my shit and leave the state.

I have an even worse case of senioritis now than I had when I was actually a senior. It’s very sad.

The thing is that I’ve never really been excited about this job to begin with. When I was working on possibly launching an incubator here, that was a bit closer to what I am interested in and that was kind of fun. Then that project got yanked away from me and now it might be coming back except that won’t happen before I leave.

My life between now and June is going to be a bunch of telling and showing people where things are located and what stage my projects were at, and then handing off. I’m already starting to schedule meetings to introduce my replacement to some of the people he’ll need to know. And, as a matter of fact, I’m finding it very satisfying to work with him.

At the same time, my bosses all of a sudden seem dissatisfied with everything I do. Now, that might just be a thing that’s going on this week. It’s only Wednesday and this week has so far been the Absolutely Nothing At All Is Going To Work For Dawn week. I suppose it’s possible that things might improve but I’m not going to hold my breath. Tomorrow I have to get hear early for a string of meetings, followed by a 2 hour drive followed by another 1-2 hour meeting followed by another 2 hour drive to get back.

I get tired just thinking about it.

To make matters worse, here I am taking care of all kinds of little details preparatory to moving. Making financial arrangements. Got my security deposit paid for the darling little townhouse. Looking into necessary services for David. Asking questions about taking my cable internet service with me. I’ve got nothing left to do for school until July or so. At this rate, it won’t be long before I have run out of things to do except leave.

Thumb-twiddling, much?

I am so ready to be gone. And, you may recall, I foresaw this state of mind. But I really had no idea how bad it was going to be. If I’m in this condition now, I’m going to be a complete basket case by mid-May. June won’t be so bad because there will be light at the end of the tunnel. Just have to get from here to there.

It is possible that it will be easier for me to possess my soul in patience when it gets really warm and spring-like (assuming we’ll have actual spring this year instead of our normal day and a half of spring followed immediately by summer). I’ll be able to go out and take walks if I want to and maybe get an early start on the cleaning we’ll need to do before we move out. I’ll be able to air out the house! I’ll even get to see my stud-muffin a little more often!!

That’ll take my mind off the calendar. 😉

