I can’t wait

dis-gon-be-good It’s been awhile, hasn’t it? I haven’t been writing in here much because I don’t have much to say except

I can’t wait! I can’t wait! I can’t wait! I can’t wait! I can’t wait!

and that would get pretty old pretty quick.

If I thought I was having trouble focusing on work a few weeks ago, that was nothing compared to the state of my brain right now. That’s because, right now, I am essentially doing nothing but setting up these meetings so that my successor can meet the people he needs to meet. I perform introductions, do a brief lead-in and then kick it to him to conduct his meeting.

It also has to do with the fact that I’m down to six weeks left at work.

You’ll notice that I’m not counting down to the day I actually move to North Carolina. I can’t even say exactly why that is. I’ve been obsessively staring at the photos of the house I’m renting, mentally arranging furniture and deciding what goes where. The big day is close enough that I have made arrangements to turn off the gas and electricity and trash collection here and to turn on the electricity and water/sewer at the townhouse.

I’ll probably reserve rooms at a pet-friendly hotel somewhere between Richmond and Chapel Hill this weekend.

It’s still a little too early for me to buy renter’s insurance and I’m also putting off paying the deposit on the electricity.

But I’m sure I’ll think of other things to do around the move.

Then there’s school. Not much going there right now, either. I’m already registered for my fall courses. I won’t be able to take care of my health insurance until July. There are arrangements I’m going to have to make for David, and that’ll occupy me briefly.

And I guess if I really wanted to distract myself from all this, I would start obsessing on my fitness journey again. I haven’t been talking about it lately because I’ve gotten kind of sporadic about it again because hair.

I’m wearing box braids these days and the braids are very thick and heavy and that is my current excuse to not work out every other day or every day or whatever. Writing it down like this is forcing me to notice how utterly pathetic it is. I’m either going to have to find a better excuse or just stop making excuses and accept my procrastination for what it is.

Either way, that’s not going to help much.

Anyway, that’s where I’m at, friends. The closer to leaving my job that I get, the more excited I’ll get. I’m probably going to start packing soon. Almost there … almost there.

