Watching as the world unfolds

creatingyourself Hello, fellow wanderers! As you can see, I’ve changed things up a bit around here.

I was going to wait until I got to my new digs in North Carolina before I did this but I am in such a different space than I was just last week that it made sense to me to make these changes now. Now is when my spirit has come uncaged.

A lot of things have changed and I haven’t even left yet.

As of right now, I am between jobs. No more nine-to-five for me and already I am starting to recover from the exhaustion. I really don’t know why working during the daytime hours that are normal for most people exhausts me so. At one time, I blamed it on my depression but I’ve been successfully addressing my depression with anti-depressants for several months now. Everything else is taken care of by that pharmaceutical intervention but spending five days a week in the office has been wiping me out for the last two years. No use saying I would have gotten used to it. If I didn’t get used to it in two years, I think we can safely forget about it.

Tomorrow will be the first weekday that I’ll be post-employment. The weekend has been … well, a weekend. Getting to sleep as late as I want and roll out of bed whenever is going to feel fantastic.

I can’t sleep quite all day, of course, because I am in the process of packing up my house. I have a feeling that it’s all going to take longer than I thought. I have spent this weekend packing up my bedroom and it took more boxes than I was expecting. It also took more hours than I was expecting. I’ve been getting good workouts with this packing stuff, too; woke up sore this morning. Given that I’ve been slacking off on the workouts for months, this will be a good way to ease my way back into lifting, right?

I’m making plans and helping Gina and Co. with their planning (they like to ask me to help with these things because I’m good at it). I’ve planned the packing and I’ve planned the move and I’ve planned how my house will be set up. I’ve been able to work with Gina to find a way to get her where she is going without having to give up eating or anything extreme like that. We’ve had an idea; we’ll wait until tomorrow to see if it pans out. Fingers crossed.

All the planning is a sham, of course. Truth is, I’m looking around this place feeling powerfully disorganized. I suppose you can’t help feeling like that when half your house is in boxes. I suspect I’m going to spend a bunch of next week getting the G/K/F team organized and mostly packed. I can’t really tell how much of my house is ready to load into a truck when there’s still a bunch of their stuff laying around the house confusing the issue.

Next weekend, I’ll pack up the boys and close down the kitchen so I can pack it. Packing the kitchen is going to be a pretty major undertaking, which is why I’m doing it close to last. That and the bathroom will involve fairly major cleaning in addition to packing.

The best thing about all this mundane-seeming stuff is that it all adds up to hitting the trail and getting start doing things I really want to do. It seems probable to me that most normal people don’t get as excited about packing as I am right now. But, to me, it’s more than just packing. It’s step one of my journey.

I’m ready to rock and roll.

Or at least, I will be once everybody is finished packing.

One thought on “Watching as the world unfolds

Comments are closed.