I got a brand new walk

she-is-going-down So, today is sort of a moment of truth.

When I first moved down here, I wasn’t really thinking about losing weight. Not at first. I gave myself a couple of weeks to unpack and settle in and stuff, catch up on my sleep and all that. Then I started working out, using Jane Fonda to ease my way back into it. After my first workout, I weighed myself and discovered, much to my astonishment, that I had already lost ten pounds since we got down here.

That was last week. I did three days of (mostly) strength workouts and gave myself the weekend off. Another strength workout yesterday and this morning, I got up and did some measurements. So this is where I am right now:

July (7/26/16)
Weight: 191
Bust: 41.5
Waist: 35
Upper Hip: 39
Lower Hip: 44
Upper Thigh: 29

I’ve taken another five pounds off over the last week! To be honest, I’m not sure if I should be worried about this or not. I’m feeling great, I’m increasing my exercising to six days a week starting this week. I haven’t really been thinking about dieting; I’ve been pretty much just eating. Granted, money is tight and I’m inclined to make sure I feed my boys before I worry about my own meals. But I really am eating.

I will offer you two theories.

First, I have often wondered whether the difficulty I was having with losing weight had to do with the latitude at which I lived. In upstate NY, where it is pretty cold in a general sort of way, maybe my body wanted to keep the extra fat to help me keep warm? I couldn’t help noticing that there seemed to be a lot more people with weight problems up there than I would regularly see when I came south. I wondered if maybe the fat would melt off me in the heat. Of course, that theory would make more sense if I wasn’t surrounded by air conditioning everywhere I go.

Second, I have been off my diabetes medication since about a week after I got here. I have always thought that I could probably reverse my insulin resistance if I could just get the weight off but it didn’t seem to matter what I did, I just couldn’t seem to get myself there. Well, right now, I’ve been off the meds for about ten days and I’m going to have to stay off them until my insurance kicks in next month. But meanwhile, the weight is just falling off me. It hasn’t been this easy for me to lose weight in years. So, maybe the problem was my diabetes medications? That seems kind of counter-intuitive but stranger things have happened. I’m inclined to stay off the diabetes meds until I get the weight down, monitoring my blood sugar all the way, and see what happens.

As a matter of fact, I’ve just decided. I’m going to continue this experiment until such time as I either decide that my blood sugar levels are getting dangerously high or until my weight loss coincides with decreased blood sugar levels. Now I’m curious.

Anyway, as promised, I got Ricky to take some pics for me since Gina is all the way across the country. She did say that she was going to create the Transformation Tuesday montages, though (thanks, G!). I’m waiting for her to get back to me with the finished product. In the meantime, I will continue working out, not because it is “working” in terms of weight loss but because it’s working in terms of firming and shaping my muscles. I am falling in love with my legs all over again and I’m having fun with the steady improvements I’m already seeing. At the same time, I am very much aware that I’ll need to drop a whopping 10 inches (that’s a lot) in order to reach my goal. But I’m feeling a lot more positive than I have in a long time.

How about you? Are you working toward a fitness goal? How’s it going? I’d love to hear your story, if you’re willing to share. And even if you’re not, I wish you the fittest best.

