Keep on truckin’

you-got-hot Yesterday was supposed to be Transformation Tuesday but I just couldn’t get myself in here to update you. And I can’t think of a synonym for transformation that starts with a “w”, in order to keep up the aliterative theme.

But never mind all that silliness. It’s the last week in September and that means it’s time for a progress post.

I’m not posting a picture this month because Ricky needs to work a bit more on his picture taking skills. This is only one of the many reasons why I miss my girls; either of them could have taken the pictures I need with no problem at all. Oh well … he has until the end of October.

So, the first thing you’ll be able to see from the table below is that the juggernaut has slowed. I didn’t lose as much weight last month as I did the previous two months. I was kind of liking that 10 pounds a month, too. This month, we’ve been short of food, though and that has had its inevitable effect.

I suspect my body has gone into starvation mode, which is what your body does when it thinks the harvest is bad this year and it wants to conserve and store fat because it thinks food is going to be scarce. Since I get paid on Friday, my body will soon be disabused of its misapprehension but it means that I’ve lost less weight than I wanted to this month and it makes it pretty likely that before I start losing again, I’m going to gain a bit when food is back in the house.

Anyway, enough with the excuses. Take a look:

. July 2016 August 2016 September 2016
Weight 191 181 175
Bust 41.5 41.5 40
Waste 35 35 30
Upper hip 39 38 38
Full hip 44 41.5 40
Upper Thigh 29 25 24.5

(I had to adjust last month’s weight because there was a typo. I’m not cheating.)

Another thing that has changed — I keep going back and forth on this — is that I have decided to contain my impatience and stay with the Jane Fonda vids because I’m just not ready to progress to my more difficult stuff. I’m still getting a good workout from those which means I should stick with it until I start to plateau. Yesterday, I did Jane Fonda’s Complete Workout (65 minutes). This gem from the 80s starts with a section of upper body work and ends with lower body work, with half an hour of aerobics in between. I was positively saturated with sweat by the time I was done.

And if I really want to pick up the pace, all I have to do is to conquer my exhaustion and do aerobics on days in between my strength work. I keep saying I’m going to do that but then I fail because I get home from classes and I’m just too tired. Or that’s what I tell myself.

That will be my goal for October. I’ve been working out about four days a week. I want to up that to six days a week and I want to add those cardio days between the strength work.

Having said all that, this is still progress and I’m happy with it.

One thought on “Keep on truckin’

  1. Fitness isn’t one-directional. There’s going to be ups and downs and months where you lose and months where you gain. The only thing that matters is that you keep up with it despite all the setbacks that come your way. You got this 😊🙌🏽

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.