Stand your ground

never-give-up I haven’t been in here in a while, for which I humbly apologize.

I have had to be all stressed out about money and trying to keep things turned on — or not — what with the little bit of money I’m making from teaching and the two young men I live with eating like there’s no tomorrow.

“Boys will be boys.” Yeah, okay.

Latest household excitement: Sammy the Cat was missing. We couldn’t find her anywhere. I seriously thought that she was gone and was trying to figure out how I was going to break the news to my daughters. How did we find her? Well, I opened the new bag of cat food and went to feed them. She reappeared, like magic. Where had she been?

boxed-sammy

There she is!

Of course! Whenever you are looking for a cat, check any boxes that you might have sitting around. (My latest household excitement only proves that my life is singularly unexciting. I consider that to be a good thing.)

That particular box contained the blender/food processor that I just bought, the better with which to make protein smoothies after my workouts. I love, love, love this thing! Unlike my last (very cheap) blender, this one has different speeds for whatever you want. It has a specific smoothie speed and I have been loving the results.

I don’t think it’s unreasonable to do the workout for the smoothie.

So, again, I’m sorry it has taken me this long to get my October results posted. I’m not even sure how I managed to lose another five pounds and not have my measurements change. Maybe I measured them wrong? Well, nevermind, here they are:

. July 2016 August 2016 September 2016 October 2016
Weight 191 181 175 171
Bust 41.5 41.5 40 39
Waste 35 35 30 33
Upper hip 39 38 38 38
Full hip 44 41.5 40 40
Upper Thigh 29 25 24.5 24.5

I’ve been feeling like I have hit something of a plateau with my workouts. And, if I’m really honest, I was afraid of my FIRM workouts. I was actually thinking about joining Planet Fitness (and I will, eventually) until Ricky reminded me of those FIRM workouts. And I finally said to myself, He’s right! The only reason I’m talking about spending money rather than moving to my FIRM workouts is because they’re really hard and I’m afraid to try them again after what happened the last few times.

Well, this week, I have been doing some of my FIRM workouts and it’s been a totally different story this time around. Now, I weigh a lot less — it was about fifteen pounds ago that I had decided it was too soon for me to switch to these exercise DVDs — and I can tackle this stuff in a healthy way.

I’ve been pretty sore this week, but that only serves to convince me that I’m doing the right thing. Sore means I’m pushing myself harder and I’m doing things that are building muscle instead of just coasting along doing stuff because I know I can do it. So, I’ll be expecting to have some major progress to report when I come back in here after Thanksgiving.

Meep!

Yes, fans, we’re coming into the Holiday eat-everything-in-sight Season. I don’t know that I’m going to harangue myself over those holiday treats or if I’m just going to keep exercising and try not to eat just to be eating. I know I’ll be baking like I normally do but fortunately for me, I have sons. Food doesn’t have much time to sit around tempting me with them in the house.

At the same time, it would be useless to deny that I’m going to be eating more sweats and things over the next couple of months. I have been avoiding carbs at dinner time but I’ve been less disciplined during the day. We’ll have to see how it goes.

Have you ever wondered why so many people make New Years Resolutions involving losing weight? It’s because of how much eating we all do in November and December. If I can arrange my life so that I won’t have to blow a resolution on something like that, I’ll be very happy.

Meanwhile, I haven’t seen Derek since we moved down here, when I was up over 200 pounds. He’s supposed to be coming down for Thanksgiving. I have not said anything at all to him about how much weight I’ve lost and I can’t wait until he sees me again. Actually, I wonder if he’d notice — he is a guy, after all. But even if he doesn’t notice to look at me, I suspect he will definitely notice a difference once his arms are around me.

That’ll give me something pleasant to think about between papers.

4 thoughts on “Stand your ground

  1. Well firstly I’m glad Sammy was safe and sound this whole time XDDD

    In terms of plateauing, yes if you keep up doing the same level of activity for long enough, your body will adapt to the point that it’s no longer having to work to do the exercise that you want it to do. The good new is, that means you’ve gotten stronger, yay! I think it’s definitely an appropriate time to FIRM it out 🙂 and if you want a lifting routine for the gym, I’ll be more than happy to make one up for you. As long as the soreness is DOMS and nothing else, then you’re good! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actually, I still have the routine we used to do from your disappearing friend at PF as well as the first one you made for me. So, once I start going to the gym, I’ll be good for at least 12 weeks. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • The FIRM is a series of workout routines that combine strength training and cardio. They used to have a web site at http://www.firmdirect.com but it doesn’t seem to be working anymore. They do have a Facebook page but it doesn’t look like anybody is maintaining it. But you can buy their DVDs from Amazon.com.

      My favorite DVDs are the ones led by Master Instructor Kelsie Daniels (I like Emily Walsh, too), mostly because she really kicks your butt and works you hard. However, *all* the FIRM DVDs have somebody doing beginner’s modifications if you’re new to working out or have never done any of the FIRM workouts before. If you’ve ever seen any of Jane Fonda’s workouts, these are several levels above those in terms of how demanding they are. But they really get you results!

      For the rest of it, I think you’re right. I am definitely building muscle. And I’m celebrating what I call the non-scale victories — you should just see how all my clothes are fitting me now! Thanks for the kind words of encouragement. And I would encourage you to get your body moving. It will make you feel great (endorphins!), it’ll shape your muscles so that your body starts to look great, and it does make a difference to getting the weight off.

      Like

Comments are closed.