Gotta kiss myself, I’m so pretty

hate-it-change-it This month’s Transformation Tuesday post that’s posted on a Wednesday is a celebration of non-scale victories (NSVs).

Which is not to say that I don’t have any victories of the scale to report; weight loss continues to happen.

It’s just that this post by Slimming B’Simscha reminded me that the stuff you don’t see on the scale is, in many ways, more important.

So let me tell you about some of the latest non-scale victories I’ve been experiencing that have been making me feel amazing:

NSV #1: My body image issues are going away.

You may recall, when I first started out on the adventure – or this iteration of this adventure – I was talking about how astounded I was to be going to the gym regularly with Gina, because of my body image issues.

I said, “The mere fact that I go to the gym at all is kind of miraculous. There are mirrors all over the place in the gym, and you wouldn’t believe how hard it is for me to make myself look in a mirror.”

Well, my friends, I have reached the point where I’m starting to look good to myself again. Looking in the mirror used to be something I avoided whenever I could, but I don’t mind looking at myself anymore. That’s a certain kind of self-hate that I have gotten rid of and it makes me feel fantastic.

NSV #2: Nothing in my wardrobe really fits me anymore.

You’d think I’d be complaining about this because I can’t really afford to run out and buy a new wardrobe at this particular point in time. But in addition to the fact that I’m swimming in clothes that used to be a little snug, I’m also getting into things I’ve had for years and never wore because they were a lot snug.

All that stuff fits me now. Looks good on me, in fact. Go me.

NSV #3: In the shower, I can see myself. I can reach myself. Everywhere.

In the interests of avoiding “too much information,” I’m not going to elaborate on this. If you’ve ever had to deal with this issue, and possibly even if you haven’t, you know just what I’m talking about.

NSV #4: I’m losing parts of me that don’t show up in these measurements.

I would probably feel worse about the seeming stagnancy of my measurements (see below), except that there’s other stuff.

For example, we got a set of family portraits done last February. Looking at them lately, I realized that I want to get them redone.

My face isn’t that fat anymore. My hands aren’t even that fat anymore. I look different than I used to.

That realization is rather thrilling, actually.

NSV #5: The workouts are better.

I am working my hardest workouts these days. I can do them now.

No, I mean I can really work them.

My body isn’t so heavy, so it’s easier to do all those plyos and all those pushups and all those tricep dips. I can push myself harder because I can get into those deep dips and lunges that defeated me a few months ago.

And I don’t run out of energy quite so fast.

So, yes, Gina, da mam is killing the workouts.

So, without further ado, here is this month’s updated chart:

. July 2016 August 2016 September 2016 October 2016 November 2016
Weight 191 181 175 171 166
Bust 41.5 41.5 40 39 39
Waist 35 35 30 33 28
Upper hip 39 38 38 38 34.5
Full hip 44 41.5 40 40 39
Upper Thigh 29 25 24.5 24.5 24

Looking at these numbers, I’m realizing that I am down to needing to take off about another three inches in my torso. That’s pretty good considering that, when I started this adventure, I was looking at wanting to take off about ten inches.

And I’m also realizing that I’m only 20 pounds away from my target weight. That might sound like a lot but I started out at 206 pounds at the end of June. Forty pounds in about five months is nothing to sneeze at.

The changes in the numbers are great. Nothing beats results, after all. But a lot of the results don’t show up in the numbers, and it makes sense to acknowledge those.

Sometimes, the non-scale victories are all you have to keep you going. Sometimes, the non-scale victories are the cherry atop the pie.

Either way, it pays to keep the whole picture in mind.

One thought on “Gotta kiss myself, I’m so pretty

Comments are closed.