Hey, you, get into my car!

This summer has been quite a disappointment to me in many ways.

I told you earlier that I had put a lot of the weigh I’d lost back on. At this point, I’m at the halfway point. Much of the reason for that is because I haven’t been able to drink as much water as I need, I’ve been eating like crap, and I haven’t been working out either.

I have also been having trouble finding research subjects, which is a big problem because my research isn’t happening like it should be.

So, what have I been doing?

I’ve been driving for Lyft. 

In fact, driving for Lyft is the only reason I’ve been able to pay my rent and other bills this summer. But, of course, in order to make enough for that and food, I have to put in the time.

All my time.

So, since I’ve been spending all my time behind the wheel, I have noticed something about North Carolina drivers.

They can’t drive.

Now, understand, I learned to drive in Philadelphia. I lived in New York City for 20 years. Between those two states lies New Jersey, which New Yorkers swear is home to the worst drivers in the country.

None of them can hold a candle to North Carolina drivers.

People in this state are known for being courteous and friendly. They are, too … until they get behind the wheel of a car.

They speed like New Yorkers. They dodge and weave as if they were on the Beltway around Washington, DC. They are more aggressive than New Yorkers and Washingtonians combined.

None of them seem to know how to use an entrance or exit ramp.

When they get on the highway, they think nothing of jumping in front of you, doing 47 miles an hour when you’re coming up behind them doing 70 mph. They don’t seem to understand the principle of using the ramp to get up to speed.

By the same token, if the exit ramp has a speed limit of 30 mph posted, they slow down to 50 before they get off the highway and out of your way.

They are the rudest drivers imaginable. They pull out in front of you and make no attempt to get up to speed so the person coming up on them doesn’t have to brake. They don’t seem to know what a turn signal is.

And they tailgate. They will ride your ass down the highway at 80 miles an hour. That’s just terrifying.

Not surprisingly, there are a lot of accidents here. I see at least two every day on I-40. When I lived in New York City, I used to wonder why there weren’t more accidents on the BQE.

All I can say is that even NY drivers aren’t as stupid as NC drivers.

So, sometimes, driving for Lyft feels like I’m taking my life into my hands. In its way, it’s very daring of me.

If I survive this summer, I will feel as if I lead a charmed life. I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to getting back into class next month.

